World’s best riders ready to descend on London for TISSOT UCI Track Cycling World Cup

A host of Olympic, Paralympic and world champions will take to the track at next month’s TISSOT UCI Track Cycling World Cup at Lee Valley VeloPark.

The Great Britain Cycling Team has already been announced, and boasts a collective total of 14 Olympic, 14 Paralympic and over 70 track world titles.

Joining the likes of Jason Kenny, Dame Sarah Storey, Jody Cundy, Laura Kenny and Katie Archibald to race for Tokyo 2020 qualifying points and world cup honours will be some of the sport’s biggest names, coming from all corners of the world.

Men’s sprint

While Great Britain hold the Olympic team sprint title, it is the Netherlands who won the most recent world title. Three of their victorious team of four from Apeldoorn – Matthijs Buchli, Jeffrey Hoogland and Harrie Lavreysen – will all compete in London.

In the individual event, all eyes are likely to be on Australia’s Matthew Glaetzer, the reigning world champion. Among his opponents will be the man he beat in the final in Apeldoorn, Britain’s Jack Carlin (riding in London for Team Inspired); Great Britain’s reigning Olympic champion Jason Kenny; Dutch multiple former track world champion Theo Bos (Beat Cycling Club); and 2013 world champion Stefan Botticher (Germany).

Glaetzer will also line up in the keirin, alongside Bos, 2016 world champion Eilers and 2017 world champion Aziz Awang, of Malaysia.

Women’s sprint

Reigning women’s team sprint champions, Germany’s Miriam Welte and Pauline Grabosch, will line up as a duo in London, while Russia Daria Shmeleva, who has twice won the world title, will compete for trade team Gazprom-Rusvelo, alongside Ekaterina Rogovaya.

Australia’s Stephanie Morton will be among the favourites for the individual sprint event, although the double world silver medallist will face world-class competition from the likes of 2016 world champion Tianshi Zhong (China); Grabosch; Great Britain’s Rio 2016 bronze medallist Katy Marchant; and Shmeleva, while reigning world champion Nicky Degrendele (Belgium) will contest the keirin.

Women’s endurance

The women’s team pursuit is set to be a thrilling competition, with a repeat of both the 2016 Olympic and 2018 world championship final looking eminently possible. On both occasions, Great Britain and the USA did battle for gold, with Britain winning the Olympic title and the USA gaining some form of revenge in Apeldoorn this year.

Two of Britain’s Olympic champions, Laura Kenny and Katie Archibald, will ride in London, while the USA quartet will feature three of their four world champions – Jennifer Valente, Kelly Catlin and Kimberley Geist.

Valente will also contest the omnium, while Elinor Barker will be Great Britain’s representative in the event. For both, the strongest competition is likely to come in the form of the Netherlands’ Kirsten Wild, who is reigning world and European champion.

In a partnership likely to thrill the home crowd, Kenny and Archibald will join forces for the Madison, forming part of a field which will also feature Belgium’s Lotte Kopecky and Jolien D’Hoore, the event’s inaugural world champions.

Men’s endurance

Although the USA aren’t fielding a team pursuit entry, the rising star of American track cycling, Ashton Lambie, will be competing in the event for British trade team, Huub Wattbike. Lambie made headlines earlier this year by recording a 4:07 individual pursuit at the Pan-American Championships.

One quarter of Great Britain’s team pursuit world-title winning team, Ethan Hayter, joins promising quartet Will Tidball, Ethan Vernon, Matt Walls and Fred Wright, while world silver medallists Denmark will field a strong line-up as they look to add to the world cup titles they’ve already won in Paris and Milton this season.

Olympic champion Elia Viviani will contest the omnium, with a host of recent world medallists – including the Netherlands’ Jan-Willem van Schip and Spain’s Albert Torres – hoping to challenge the majestic Italian.

Traditional Madison superpower, Belgium, will be represented by former world and reigning European champion Kenny De Ketele, alongside Moreno de Pauw, with Denmark’s Niklas Larsen and Casper von Folsach and Spain’s Albert Torres and Sebastien Mora also likely to be targeting gold.

Entry lists

Tissot UCI Track Cycling World Cup – London – Entry List – Men

Tissot UCI Track Cycling World Cup – London – Entry List – Women

The event at Lee Valley VeloPark takes place between December 14 and 16, and limited numbers of tickets are still available here.